Introducing S.P.O.C.K my First Stab at a Gen-AI App, that you can try for FREE.

Abish Pius
4 min readMay 28, 2023

--

Stable Diffusion Generated Spock Cartoon Character

Before, I dive into the article describing how to use the app and the tools I used to build it. I want to link the interface here as I am making it free to use for the entire month. Try S.P.O.C.K FREE! It is a generative AI app that assists in applying for jobs, freelance proposals, and college scholarships + admissions essays.

Welcome to S.P.O.C.K

S.P.O.C.K (Solo-Preneur Optimized Content Kickstarter)

So, what is it?

S.P.O.C.K or Solo-Preneur Optimized Content Kickstarter is a tool I designed, (mainly for myself but figured it could help others as well), to assist in generating cover letters for job applications and proposals to win freelance contracting bids. Additionally, I included a section for my college bound siblings to assist with writing applications for college essays and scholarships. Finally, if you couldn’t tell from the name, I am somewhat of a Star Trek fan 🖖.

That’s cool, how do I use it?

Being my first app, I tried to make the UI (user interface) as easy as possible to use, but I am not really a UI/UX developer by trade (I am a Data Scientist).

UI for S.P.O.C.K

The first step is to select which content you want to generate, either the Cover Letter, the Freelance Bid (Project Proposal), or the College Essay. Afterwards you will be presented with a form that tells you the details to enter. For example, on the Cover Letter portion you need your name, the name of the company you are applying to, an optional hiring manager name, the job details and some personal skills you want to highlight. Once filled out, you simply press the submit form and wait a few seconds for the output to generate.

Sample output for cover letter application

Wow thanks for the Demo, could I build my own?

Absolutely! In fact you can see the code I used to generate this web app if you click on the GitHub icon (see image below).

How to see the App code

The app is built fully using Python through the package Streamlit which is effective for quickly building and sharing web apps. The app can then be hosted for free to consumers using Streamlit Share.

Furthermore, I would like to shoutout Google for the real generative AI power behind the app. Through API calls to their Palm2 models (specifically Text-Bison), I am able to leverage the power of large language models (LLMs) with low latency and high availability. Note, I am not a google employee, but I was lucky enough to be selected for developer access for their maker suite beta testing trials (you can still sign up here).

Google Palm2 — Gen AI Platform

My future plans?

So for me this is just phase 1 of exploring the capabilities of this platform and its uses. My next stage is to try to integrate this as an API service on a platform like RapidAPI. The intent/final goal is to be able to automatically cycle through LinkedIn job postings (or College Scholarships) and apply to all of them with as minimal effort as needed by the user. So far, this has boosted my productivity nearly 10-fold in terms of applying to jobs and receiving follow-up calls as well as won over $1500 in scholarships simply by bulk applying for them with little to no effort.

Thanks for reading! And please do check out the app, even if you do not intend to use it. I would greatly appreciate any and all constructive feedback.

Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn (Abish Pius | LinkedIn) if interested in collaborating on projects or asking any questions.

--

--

Abish Pius

Data Science Professional, Python Enthusiast, turned LLM Engineer